

# SOCIETY FOR ADVANCEMENT OF ELECTROCHEMCAL SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (SAEST) - ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS FOR THE PERIOD 2025-26 and 2026-27

The present team of office bearer's period expires during June 2025. New team of office bearers has to be elected for the period 2025-26 to 2026-27 for the following categories. One President, Four Vice-Presidents (1 from CECRI, 1 from Academia and 2 from Industry), one Secretary, one Joint-Secretary, one Treasurer and seven Governing Council Members. Out of seven Governing Council members six will be elected (3 from CECRI, 3 from outside), and the immediate past Secretary will be a default Governing Council member (without calling for nomination / election).

Other than President and Vice-Presidents, nominations are invited for the post of one Secretary, one Joint Secretary, one Treasurer and Six Governing Council Members, in which, one Secretary, one Joint-secretary, one Treasurer and three Governing Council members should be the member of staff working in CSIR-CECRI, Karaikudi.

#### **CALL FOR NOMINATION**

Nominations are invited from the eligible SAEST members for the following positions as per the election procedure clause 10 and its sub clauses as amended in the 47<sup>th</sup> Annual Business meeting held on 14-07-2011 and subsequently amended on 25-10-2017.

Position	No. of post	
Secretary	One (from CECRI)	
Joint-Secretary	One (from CECRI)	
Treasurer	One (from CECRI)	
Governing Council Member	Six (Three from CECRI +	
	Three from outside)	

### 1. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA:

For the above posts the candidates should have a minimum of **5 years** of R&D experience in the area of Electrochemical Science and Technology and also have continuous life membership in the Society for minimum 5 years.

The application of candidate should be proposed by a SAEST member and it should be seconded by another member of the society.

Candidates must have sufficient service in CECRI, to complete the tenure of the position, for which they wish to contest. One person can apply for one position only.

As per the election procedure Clause 10.4, Person(s) already elected or nominated for any one of the offices in the Society are not eligible to contest again for the next one term.

Application form can be downloaded from SAEST Website – <a href="www.saest.com">www.saest.com</a>. Duly filled application form in a sealed cover may be handed over to <a href="Dr. B. Ramesh Babu">Dr. B. Ramesh Babu</a>, Returning officer / Chairman of Nominating Committee, Chief Scientist & Dean, Centre for Education, CSIR-CECRI, Karaikudi-630003

## 2. ELECTION PROCESS:

For the conduct of election, Society's constitution & bye-law number 10 and its sub clauses will be followed.

## 3. SCHEDULE FOR THE ELECTION PROCESS:

Date of announcement of Election	09-04-2025
Last date for filing nominations	30-04-2025 @ 5.00 PM
Scrutiny of nominations	02-05-2025
Declaration of valid nominations	02-05-2025
Last date for withdrawal of nominations	13-05-2025 @ 5.00 PM
Election (if required)	23-05-2025

Declaration of results will be announced in the upcoming General Body.