saest name


The Michael Faraday Memorial Private Trust, a non-profit-making body, was founded on September 20, 2006 to commemorate Michael Faraday, arguably the greatest experimentalist ever. There is probably no other scientist who helped shape our world as much as Michael Faraday. A scientist par excellence, he contributed immensely to science especially to electromagnetism and electrochemistry. His work on electricity found expression in day-to-day electromechanical devices that dominate engineering and industry. He was the inventor of the dynamo, introduced the concept of lines of flux emanating from charged bodies and magnets, discovered the Faraday effect and the shielding effect that is used in Faraday cage. He also discovered substances such as benzene and the first clathrate hydrate, liquefied gases such as chlorine, and proposed the system of oxidation numbers. He also discovered the laws of electrolysis, by which he quantified electrochemistry, and popularized terminology such as anode, cathode, electrode and ion.


The Trust aims to foster the innate spirit of Faraday’s scientific pursuit and to manage scientific lectures by eminent scholars in the field of electrochemical science and technology all over the world so as to infuse and promote scientific temper in our country.


Accordingly, the Trust undertakes organization of a biennial Faraday Lecture by honoring the speaker with a medal, citation and a cash prize. The Trust maintains a corpus fund raised from voluntary donations received from philanthropic individuals and industrial organizations. The Trust is presently functioning at the following address:


C/o. SAEST, CECRI Campus
Karaikudi 630 006, Tamil Nadu, INDIA


Details of Faraday Lectures:



Lecture given by

First Faraday Lecture was delivered by

Professor C.N.R. Rao

Scientific Adviser to Prime Minister of India

(before the formation of the Trust )

May 19, 2006

Second Faraday Lecture 2008 was delivered by

Professor M.M. Sharma, FRS,

Emeritus Professor of Eminence

Mumbai University Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai.

October 17, 2008

Third Faraday Lecture was delivered by

Professor. Jean-Marie Tarascon

Professor and Director,Alistore-Eri &

Institute of Chemistry of Picardie,France.

August 10, 2011

Fourth Faraday Lecture was delivered by

Professor. Digby D. Macdonald

Distinguished Professor of Materials Science & Engineering and Director, Center for Electrochemical Science & Technology, Pennsylvania State University, USA.

July 27, 2012

Fifth Lecture was delivered by

Professor. R.A. Mashelkar

National Research Professor & President

Global Research Alliance.

December 16, 2014